Shire of Bairnsdale


Shire of Bairnsdale

The Shire of Bairnsdale was a local government area about east of Melbourne, the state capital of Victoria, Australia. The shire covered an area of 2,277.9 square kilometres (879.5 sq mi), and existed from 1867 until 1994. For its first hundred years it governed both Bairnsdale and the surrounding area; however, after that time, Bairnsdale had its own city government.HistoryBairnsdale was first incorporated as a road district on 30 April 1867, and became a shire on 14 July 1868. On 6 January 1882, what is now the Shire of Tambo, centred on Lakes Entrance, split away from Bairnsdale. On 27 May 1914 and 1 October 1964, it lost some land to its west to the Shire of Avon. On 31 May 1967, after a poll of ratepayers, the Centre Riding and parts of the East Riding severed to form the Town of Bairnsdale (which became a City in 1990).On 2 December 1994, the Shire was abolished, and merged with City of Bairnsdale, Shire of Orbost, Shire of Tambo, most of Shire of Omeo and the Boole Boole Peninsula from Shire of Rosedale into the Shire of East Gippsland. The West Dargo region merged into the Shire of Wellington.

Address & Contact
City: Bairnsdale
Category: Landmark
Map & Directions
Social Media
Join on Facebook
Local Businesses nearby

0 Check similar local businesses found in Bairnsdale

Add your page - Edit/Delete this page - Contact Shire of Bairnsdale

Home - Privacy Policy Terms & Conditions FTC Compliance - DisclaimerDMCA Compliance Anti Spam Policy Report Abuse - Contact

All content posted by the user in the form of Offers/Products/Company Profiles/Images etc. is the responsibility of the user and shall not be held liable for any such content in any way.